Radiation Safety Committee

Role: The Radiation Safety Committee is a subcommittee of the Laboratory Safety Committee.  It serves as the University Radiation Safety Committee, as mandated by the University of Kansas (Lawrence campus) Broad Radioactive Materials License. As such, the composition and functions of this subcommittee shall meet the requirements of the License and Title 10 Code of Federal Regulations Part 20. The Radiation Safety Subcommittee (RSSC) assures that radioactive material, licensed under the broad-scope radioactive material license, and ionizing radiation producing equipment (i.e. x-ray equipment, fluoroscopes, accelerators, etc.) are used safely, and in compliance with State of Kansas and federal regulations, license conditions, and certified registrations.

Committee Chair

Jeff Krise, Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Committee Members

James Blakemore, Associate Professor, Chemistry

Lawrence Magee Sr., Physician, Athletics

Mike Rounds, Vice Provost for Human Resources, Public Safety & Operations, Provost Office

Alice Dale, Radiation/Laser Safety Officer, Environment, Health & Safety


Report A Safety Concern

Report a concern to KU-EHS

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times