Employee Safety Committee

Role: The University Safety & Health Committee (USHC) serves as a resource to the campus on matters of occupational safety and health. It provides advice and support to KU-EHS in developing and implementing campus occupational safety and health programs. The USHC is comprised of a broad cross-section of employee representation from across campus. This committee reports to the EHSEC.


Committee Chair

Mike Russell


Environment, Health & Safety

mjrussell@ku.edu, 785-864-2854

Committee Members

Steve Levenson, Safety & Health Specialist, Environment, Health & Safety

Allen Humphrey, Asst. Director, Human Resources

Doug Carter, Assoc. Director, Student Housing

Kent Miller, Assoc. Dean, Libraries

Mark Witt, Capt., Public Safety

Tim Wyrick, Director, Union Building Services

Jeff Chasen, Director, Office of Compliance

Barry Swanson, Assoc. Vice Provost, Campus Operations



Back to EHS Committees

Report A Safety Concern

Report a concern to KU-EHS

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times