Lab Safety Executive Committee


The Laboratory Safety Executive Committee (LSEC) provides guidance and oversight to the Lab Safety Committee and its Subcommittees. Its purpose is to aid the subcommittees in the promotion of lab safety culture and to coordinate efforts across the four subcommittees.


CHAIR: Simon Atkinson, Vice Chancellor for Research (Overall LSC Chair)

Bill Picking, Biosafety/rDNA Committee, Chair

Jeff Krise, Radiation Safety Committee, Chair

Bob Dunn, Laser Safety Committee, Chair

Vacant - Chemical Safety Committee, Chair

Mike Russell, Director of Environment, Health & Safety

Mike Rounds, Vice Provost for Operations

Jeff Chasen, Associate Vice Provost for Institutional Compliance


Larry Cattoor, EHS Lab Safety Programs Manager

Alice Dale, EHS Radiation/Laser Safety Programs Manager

Report A Safety Concern

Report a concern to KU-EHS

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times