rDNA/Biosafety Committee

Role: The rDNA/Biosafety Committee is a subcommittee of the Laboratory Safety Committee.

An Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is required at institutions that receive funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for research involving recombinant DNA molecules.

All recombinant DNA research at KU-Lawrence Campus, regardless of funding source, must be conducted in accordance with the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules and must be registered with the KU-LC IBC.

The IBC also serves as a resource to KU-EHS in the review and approval of research conducted with microorganisms pathogenic to humans, plants, or animals.


Committee Chair

Dr. Bill Picking, Foundation Distinguished Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Committee Members

Dr. Lynn Hancock, Associate Professor, Molecular Biosciences  

Mike Russell,Director, Environment, Health & Safety (Institutional Biosafety Officer)

Dr. Jeff Barclay (Off-campus representative)

Kevin Kennedy (Off-campus representative)

Committee Info

Committee Policy - University of Kansas (Lawrence Campus) Policy regarding the Conduct of Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) Meetings and Content of IBC Meeting Minutes

Committee Meetings

  • Posted 10/16/2020 - next rDNA/Biosafety Committee meeting is scheduled for 10/27/2020. 1pm. EHS Dept.

Committee Minutes

2019 Meetings - There were no full committee meetings in 2019. No protocols received requiring full committee review/approval.

Back to EHS Committees

Report A Safety Concern

Report a concern to KU-EHS

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times